Announcement of new appointments to the Corporate and Academic Governance at MIT

MIT is delighted to announce the following appointments to the corporate and academic governance at MIT:

Independent Director

James Joughin has been appointed an Independent Director on the MIT Board of Directors.   James brings over 30 years of general corporate finance experience.   He was a senior partner at Ernst & Young for 17 years and headed their Mergers and Acquisitions division in Melbourne.  James has advised a wide range of clients which include private, public listed and multi-national companies.   He is an experienced company director, and is also currently Chairman of Spirit Telecom, a public listed ASX company, and Chairman of TGM Group Pty Ltd, a private professional services business.

Chair Academic Board

Emeritus Professor Doug Grant BSc, MSc, PhD, FACS, CP, has been appointment as Chair of Academic Board.   Professor Grant has over 40 years experience in the academic sphere. Commencing as a lecturer in mathematics in 1977, and following appointments at Griffith University and Swinburne University of Technology, held senior positions at Swinburne University of Technology, including Head of School and Dean of Computer Sciences. He was also appointed Professor of Computer Science at Swinburne. He was awarded the title of Emeritus Professor at Swinburne in 2013. Professor Grant's distinguished career is highlighted by his strong commitment and achievement in teaching, research and professional service. He has made significant contributions to the Australian Computer Society in the area of professional standards and as Vice-President (Membership Boards). He also has extensive experience in academic governance through his membership of Swinburne University's Academic Board and its university Committees. 

As Chair of Academic Board, Professor Grant will also be an ex-officio member of the MIT Board of Directors.

Retirement of Professor John Rickard and Mr Terry Benfold

MIT also take this opportunity to acknowledge the contributions of Professor John Rickard and Mr Terry Benfold, both of whom retired from the MIT Board of Directors in 2017.  Both served as Independent Directors on the Board since 2014, with Professor Rickard acting as Chairman of the Board, and Terry chairing the Audit & Risk Management Committee.   Both also served on the previous governing body, MIT’s Governing Council.

MIT wishes them well and thank them for their leadership, guidance and many years of valuable service to MIT.